Saturday, 18 August 2012

Tan Weiliang routs a field of Masters to win Balestier Blitz!

Against a strong "master"-ful field comprising IM Lim Yee Weng, FM Ong Chong Ghee, NM Lee Wang Sheng, NM Olimpiu Urcan, CM Malcolm Tan, CM Quek Suan Shiau and CM Jarred Neubronner, Tan Weiliang showed strong nerves and swift accurate play to win the Balestier Blitz by a clear point from Malcolm Tan. Weiliang scored 6.5/7 and only shedded a draw to Yee Weng who finished in 3rd position with 4 points.

Here is an interesting position from the penultimate round.

No comments:

Post a comment